Shooting portraits and app editing ~ Lagrange Photographer Chris Peters ~

Last week my friend and fellow photographer, Carrie, went to Fullersburg Woods in Oak Brook, IL to do a little portrait shooting. This is a great place for portraits. It’s a forest preserve that has it all. Creeks, streams, old bridges, stone walls, and of course trees. There’s even an old water mill down Salt Creek about a half mile (Graue Mill).
I first show you the shots we took, then I’ll tell you all about the apps I used to edit them. Enjoy!

20130124-014152.jpg
This one was near the waterfall and mill. Just a warm up.

20130124-014409.jpg

20130124-014458.jpg

20130124-014524.jpg
These three were taken outside the nature center. I LOVE THE stone work! It also doesn’t hurt that besides being a great photographer, Carrie models pretty well, too!

20130124-014751.jpg

20130124-014830.jpg

20130124-014858.jpg
These were taken by a stone wall near the others. I wanted to get that nice depth of field. It worked I think 🙂

20130124-015109.jpg

Now I did not use photoshop at all on any of these images. They were all edited on my ipad2. I’ve blogged before about some different apps that I like, but I think I’ve found some even better ones. For most of the work I used Snapseed. This is a really great photo editing app. Very easy to use and so far nice looking. The other I used is Filterstorm, which is a super powerful editor. Closest to photoshop that I’ve found: layers, cloning, levels, and lots more. The only problem I’ve experienced is that it takes al few minutes to process large images. Other than that its great.
Granted, I may have overused a few of the effects (especially the tilt shift in Snapseed), but I wanted to demonstrate what the app was capable of. None of that apps I’ve used so far would be very feasible for a large amount of photos; the workflow would be a nightmare to do, say, an entire wedding. But if you were looking to do some location portraits and bring only your iPad (or phone), this would be a great way to make it happen.
Thanks for reading and all comments are appreciated!

This entry was published on January 24, 2013 at 2:03 am. It’s filed under Portrait and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

